Every one is doing a best of something nowawadays, so decided to give it a shot with the apps that are making my on-the-go moves easier in high-tech trains Tokyo. I am actually using way more than those apps, (Keyboards inputs, Metro, Trains, Art events …) but figured out the list below was gathering applications that could be used just about anywhere. Drop a comment if you have some good ones.

Anyway, here it goes, in no specific order.

  1. Dropbox
    It has been just working great for me with Dropbox sync. I just dropped the latest on the go file somewhere from the computer, and can read, present or send files on the go. Just works.
  2. Maxthon Mobile
    Been trying a few other brothers (notably Dolphin), but Maxthon came up as the simple browser + just what I need: great shortcuts, stability and more than anything else, it keeps my batteries going. Haven’t tried any of the plugins but seems like a bunch of them came out recently.
  3. Double Twist
    Sync my music in a reliable way, on my SD card.Ā  Play it with a simple but functional UI with no running problems. It just keeps playing. Excellent for late night coming back home. Or the early morning ones
  4. K-9 Mail
    I tried, really tried to use the original Gmail apps, but it is just impossible to do anything quick with it. My phone would freeze, I lost emails, it would not find my contacts… All those problems gone with K-9. It is still missing a few things to make the experience smoother, but I can do everything I wants, in a short time, and that’s what counts
  5. Catch
    All my on the go notes are stored there. Whether typed or recorded, images, notes, most of it goes in there. And it actually got super nice to use in the latest updates.
  6. Jorte
    My Synchronized Calendar with Gmail. It can sync back and forth, shows a set of calendar, edit items in no time. Perfect.
  7. Budoist
    My interface to todoist.com. I keep all the todos there. No sync problems, I get my tasks ready and waiting for me, whether I get home, or go to the office.
  8. gReader
    Your free RSS reader for all the feeds stored on google reader. I don’t do anything else but read from this app, maybe it can do something else, maybe it can do. But I can read all my feeds in one clean place, and that is awesome.
  9. andChat
    We are using IRC for communication at work, so that one actually proved to be a time saver whenever some quick updates were needed where hard to take the computer out.
  10. Path
    My small, favorite, cute social network app.
  11. Tumblr
    This is one of the best example of how to create a perfect and useful app on the android. Intuitive, precise, fast upload to your tumblr accounts.
  12. Line
    I hate this app šŸ™‚ But I am actually doing on my short messaging on it these days, so I put it here. The only problem is that you lose most or just about everything of your account when you change phone, history, messages …
  13. Skype
    This could be a very Japan-specific review.Ā  I happen to use this to call Europe and the US on regular 3G networks and… it works better than on my PC. šŸ™‚ Only problem is that the phone gets really hot rather quickly so more than 30 minutes on a skype call and I am fried.
  14. Aldiko
    Started my adventure in the ePub land (mobile ebooks format). Aldiko proved that a free reader can be simple, with no ad, and let you read your book in a comfortable fonts. Thank you !
  15. Pulse
    Pulse I open when I have read everything else šŸ™‚ I should put it up higher on my list of used apps. It is so easy to find and read new stuff that you would probably not go and read yourself. Opens my horizon in a superb user experience. Please stay free.
  16. andFTP
    My A2Hosting provides a FTP access to my account. This means that most of my ebooks, libraries and pictures IĀ  actually store on FTP when Dropbox gets too squeezed… and guess what. Cheaper, easier, and very fast.
  17. Pudding Camera or FX Camera
    Could not decide which one, so I put the two. They do almost the same things, making your pictures look good, without the Instagram crap. It works, it’s intuitive, my pictures looks great. Loving it. (them?)
  18. Facebook Messenger
    To the same extend that the Facebook App is rather annoying, but then realized that some friends and connections were easier and more responsive on Facebook itself, then I install this app. And what a surprise.Ā  It’s cool ! and send my messages šŸ˜‰
  19. Quickpik
    This app got less attractive since I got my new Sony Experia, which has a blazing fast gallery in 3D but still, Quickpik was the first app I ever install on an Android device and this is the app that got me to love Android more than I used too. Compared to the aging iPhone gallery, it was such a shot in the future. Thank you Quickpik
  20. ES File Explorer
    This is the -you try it all, but still you need to move files around- application. You can browse everything on your device, and see what a mess it is šŸ˜‰ It is useful when using files for which you have no application yet, and a bunch of other very dramatic moments.